While other states make critical distinctions between assault and battery, in Ohio, assault is an umbrella term that encompasses all unwanted physical contact and threatening conduct between parties. Any violent crime is considered seriously by the court and our state statutes provide significant penalties for those who are convicted of these charges.
At Patituce & Associates, our dedicated team of legal advocates has been practicing criminal defense for more than three decades. We know how detrimental a criminal conviction can be for our clients and what critical distinctions need to be made before the court to ensure that they receive the consideration they deserve.
Our Toledo assault attorneys are ready to hear the details of your case. Call us a 419-737-4556 today.
Different Assault Charges in Ohio
Ohio state statutes provide a gradient of different assault charges to apply to a broad range of different circumstances. What these charges have in common, however, is that they can result in punishing fines and jail/prison time if a guilty verdict is reached.
Different forms of assault charges in Ohio include:
- Assault (O.R.C. 2903.13) – first-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to $1,000 in fines and six months in jail
- Negligent Assault (O.R.C. 2903.14) – third-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to $500 and 60 days in jail
- Aggravated Assault (O.R.C. 2903.12) – fourth-degree felony punishable by up to $5,000 in fines and six years in prison
- Felonious Assault (O.R.C. 2903.11) – second-degree felony punishable by up to $20,000 in fines and eight years in prison.
- Vehicular Assault (O.R.C. 2903.08) – fourth-degree felony punishable by up to five-year license suspension and 18 months in prison
- Aggravated Vehicular Assault (O.R.C. 2903.09) – third-degree felony punishable by up to 10-year license suspension and five years in prison
- Vehicular Manslaughter (O.R.C. 2903.06) – second-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to a three-year license suspension and 90 days in jail
- Menacing (O.R.C. 2903.22) – fourth-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to $250 in fines and 30 days in jail
- Aggravated Menacing (O.R.C. 2903.21) – first-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to $1,000 in fines and six months in jail
- Menacing by Stalking (O.R.C. 2903.211) – first-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to $1,000 in fines and six months in jail
Call Our Toledo Assault Attorneys for a Free Case Review!
If you or your loved one have been charged with any of the above crimes, then the time to speak with our experienced Toledo criminal defense attorneys is now. At Patituce & Associates, our team has not one, but three former prosecutors who are ready to assess your options and diligently pursue a favorable outcome on your behalf.