DUI Penalties in Toledo

Ohio law prohibits driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs and alcohol. In Ohio, drunk driving offenses are known as Operating a Vehicle Impaired charges or OVI. If a person operates a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) over the legal limit, he or she can face stiff DUI penalties in Toledo.

In fact, the laws permit prosecutors to pursue charges against any individual suspected of operating a vehicle impaired (OVI). If you or someone in your family has been charged with an OVI in Toledo, OH, you have come to the right place.

The dedicated team of Toledo DUI defense lawyers at Patituce & Associates LLC. has the necessary expertise and skills to defend your side of the case in courts all over the state. Our lawyers fully understand this area of criminal defense as well as the consequences you may have to face as a result of your charges.

Our expert team is ready to face this uncertain time with you. Call 419-737-4556 to arrange a free consultation with our DUI defense lawyers in Toledo today.

Table of Contents

What Are the DUI Penalties in Toledo, Ohio?

The penalties for a DUI conviction in Ohio will vary depending on the specific facts around your case. Ohio DUI laws have different penalties for low and high alcohol test results. You will typically receive a higher sentence if testing shows that your BAC level is over .17%.

There are also enhanced penalties for repeat DUI offenses.

First-Time DUI Offense

If you are a first-time offender, you may face the following penalties.

If you are a first-time DUI offender with a high BAC (over .17%), you can face the following penalties.

  • Six days to six months of jail time or 3 days in jail with a DIP program
  • License suspension for six months to three years
  • $375 to$1,075 in fines
  • No limited driving privileges until after 15 days

First-time DUI offenders under 21 years risk facing:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • License suspension for up to 90 days or two years
  • Up to $250 in fines
  • No limited driving privileges for the first 60 days.

Second DUI Offense

If it is your second DUI offense, you can face the following penalties.

  • 10 days to 6 months jail time
  • $525 to $1,625 in fines
  • One to five years license suspension
  • Attending drug/alcohol treatment
  • No chance of receiving limited driving privileges for the first 45 days
  • You may have to use an ignition interlock device and restricted plates.
  • Your car is immobilized for 90 days.

If you are below 21 years and it is your second offense, you will face the following penalties.

  • Fines of up to $500
  • Up to 60 days in jail
  • Zero limited driving privileges for the first 60 days
  • One to five years license suspension

DUI Law Book, Concept Image for DUI Penalties in Toledo, Ohio

For a second high-BAC DUI offense, you will risk facing the following penalties.

  • 20 days to six months in jail
  • $525 to $1,625 in fines
  • One to five years license suspension
  • Attending drug/alcohol treatment
  • No chance of getting limited driving privileges for 45 days
  • Ignition interlock device and restricted plates required
  • Your car is immobilized for 90 days

Third DUI Offense

If you commit a third DUI offense, you may face the following penalties.

  • 30 days or 15 days in jail and 55 days house arrest with electrical monitoring (HAEM) and/or continuous alcohol monitoring (CAM)
  • $850 to $2,750 in fines
  • License suspension for two to 10 years
  • Drug/alcohol treatment
  • Ignition interlock device and restricted plates
  • No chance of a limited driving privilege for 180 days
  • Mandatory forfeiture of the vehicle if registered to the defendant

A high-BAC third DUI offense can result in these penalties.

  • $850 to $2,750 fines
  • 60 days to one year of jail time
  • Ignition interlock device and restricted plates
  • License suspension for two to 10 years
  • No chance for limited driving privileges for 180 days
  • Mandatory forfeiture of the vehicle if registered to the defendant

What Is a Felony DUI in Ohio?

Depending on different factors, a DUI can be charged as a felony or misdemeanor.

Under Ohio’s OVI/DUI law, you will be charged with felony DUI if you have been convicted of 3, 4, or more DUI offenses within the previous 10 years or 5 DUI convictions within the previous 20 years or have another felony on your record.

You should consult a Toledo DUI defense lawyer right away if you are being charged with a DUI felony. While navigating a DUI charge can be tricky, it is not impossible to beat these charges with the help of a skilled DUI attorney.

Call Our Toledo DUI Defense Lawyers Today!

If you or a loved one has been charged with an OVI in Toledo, OH, you should hire an experienced DUI defense lawyer to safeguard your legal rights. Our team at Patituce & Associates LLC has decades of experience and will fight to help you beat your DUI charge or get a lesser sentence.

Contact us today at 419-737-4556 to set up a free consultation with our Toledo criminal defense lawyers.

Related Articles